Issue #130


by Juan Carlos Lope

20 Questions with Cover Model Jessica Schiefer

Video Interview with Amateur Figure Lisa Balash

Jessica Schiefer, Kanani Gonzales, Kristy Cisneroz, Laura Richards & Natalie Bush

Video Interview with Pro Figure Kanani Gonzales

Hair Tip of the Month
by Lindsey Fowler

Video Interview with Amateur Bikini Tanya Aziz


20 Questions with Cover Model Jessica Schiefer

Jessica Schiefer

1) Please introduce yourself? What makes you special? Who is Jessica Schiefer?

My name is Jessica Schiefer. I usually go by Jessie. What makes me special? I live a pretty good life, and I'm surrounded by such a great support system. I feel like my family and friends make me special. I'm so blessed to have such good people in my life. It allows me to be who I am and fulfill life goals. I don't always believe in myself, but they keep me in check and remind me that I can do anything I put my mind to. I am less than one week away from turning 28 years old, and I'm excited to see what 28 brings! 27 has been an eventful year! 

2) Please tell us a bit about your family, friends and surroundings? 

I moved to Sacramento, CA last month, but I am originally from Ohio. Most recently I lived in Columbus, Ohio. I grew up in Cincinnati, where my family still lives. My family has a cabin in the U.P. Of Michigan, where we spend a lot of time in the summer. My sister's family I also in Cincinnati. My brother in-law and sister have two kids, 3 and 5 years old.
I currently live with my boyfriend of 5.5 years. He is a professional athlete. We have done long distance for the past couple years. Living in the same place, allows us to train together. However, most of my training has been done solo, with an 'online' coach guiding my way. 
I remain in close touch with my best friends from high school and also my college best friends. We are all scattered across the country, but whenever we get back together it's like we never missed a beat. I'm at that age where everyone is having babies or getting married. So life has been filled with events and celebrations lately that allow us all to reunite. It's been exciting celebrating! 

3) How did you start competing in bikini?

In 2012, I went to one of my friend's competition to cheer her on. After watching the competition, it made me question how I could look and how far I could push myself. A college friend of mine competed and coached, so I contacted her when I finally made the decision to challenge myself and get on stage! Also, I used to dance competitively. Seeing the competitive stage portion of bodybuilding made me miss that adrenaline rush and performance part of competing. 
My journey in bodybuilding and competing started at the end of 2013, when I decided I needed a focus, a goal, and a major challenge. It was exactly what I needed in all aspects of life. Competing and bodybuilding has taught me so much about myself. 

4) What is your personal policy (not what the judges want) about conditioning and muscularity when coming into a show? Soft or hard? 

Personally, I like my physique better when it shows great conditioning, lean and more 'hard'. It really is the only way I am able to bring my backside in tight and defined. My legs and backside lean out last. I always appreciate a great physique that is well balanced! 

5)  What is your idea of what judges want in a bikini competitor? Do you think judges are clear enough with competitors about how they want you on stage? It seems in Europe they are very clear unlike in the USA and now in Canada things are confusing. 

I think they are really looking at the overall package a competitor brings to the stage. Yes, it involves a great, well balanced physique. But also, for bikini a lot has to do with presentation and your presence on stage. It does depend on who shows up that day, it seems. 

Jessica Schiefer

6) For the next shows what do you think you need to work on physique-wise/conditioning-wise? If anything!

My goal is to build my glutes and shoulders. Also, my challenge has always been to bring my posterior chain in tight to allow for my glute-ham tie in to show on stage. 

7) What is your typical training routine in the gym (per day, include sets and reps!) How much cardio do you do before a show?

I train 5 days a week. 2 of those days are focused on my hamstrings and glutes. I limit training my quads, because they are so dominant! A lot of my glute work is more isolated, because my quads tend to take over with larger compound movement. I don't neglect training my quads, it is just limited to higher reps and lower weight. As far as cardio goes for me, I typically do 2-3 sessions a week of 20-30 minute HIIT cardio during a competition prep. In an 'off season' my cardio is limited to none. 

8) What is your pre-contest diet? (per day, 1 week before the show)

I prep by macros/IIFYM. This works well for me. 80-90% of my food intake is clean, whole foods and if I crave something sweet I'll fit it in! I do eat a lot of lean proteins and veggies. I'm all about volume eating when carbs are limited. 1 week before the show I usually cut out any artificial products and dairy.

9) How do you go about dropping your water before the day of the show? How much water do you drink the day of the show. Please be specific.

Early in the week I drink 1.5-2 gallons a day then taper towards the end of the week. Day before the show I drink 1/2 gallon and the day of it is usually 6-8oz of water with meals. 

10) What motivates you to train/diet and compete? Are there any competitors you looked up to?

For me it's all a personal challenge. It feels great to me to set and accomplish goals. Before bodybuilding I never really did that. It gives me more of a passion for life and a drive to improve. I track my progress weekly whether in prep mode or off season. I like to see what works and what doesn't for me. My body is like my own personal science project. I like seeing how my lifestyle can directly effect my health and my physique. 
I have always admired Jessica Arrevlo's stage presence and posing. I used to watch videos of her to learn the posing/stage part of competing in bodybuilding. Other competitors I admire, include Anya Ells for her insane physique and Laurin Conlin for her knowledge and "real-ness". And of course I admire the well built physique of Ashley Kaltwasser! Flawless! 

11) Please tell us an interesting experience you had at a show recently, be it a fun thing or something rather not so fun?

It's never fun to wait 3 hours past your scheduled appointment time for hair and makeup. Talk about stress! Wooo, thank goodness bikini is always last. 

Jessica Schiefer

12) What is your personal opinion about the figure, fitness, bodybuilding industry we are in? Anything you would like to see changed? 

Competing and training in bodybuilding is a hobby for me, outside of a full time job. I don't get too involved in the politics and am not part of a big team. I do this for me. When I'm at a competition to compete or watch, I socialize and am in the moment. I really enjoy the industry, and also the passion and drive it brings to my life. It's very motivational to be around people who have so much experience, and also those who are just starting. I'm blessed to have met friends near and far just through competing, it really is the best part! 
The only thing I would like to see change is the politics that can be involved. A good physique and stage presence (mostly for bikini) should be rewarded, not because you are part of a big team or for political reasons. I appreciate getting legit feedback from judges, I want to better myself and push myself. The guidance they give needs to be real and not just an excuse why you didn't place. Personally, I compete to make myself better and grow my physique. Any knowledge given to me I use in a positive way. Also, I love watching the bikini division evolve. The new faces are fun to watch! It's exciting and motivational. 

13) What has been your hardest challenge to overcome either in your personal life or competing career?

Competing career: never giving up, chasing after that pro card show after show, being hungry tired and exhausted but completing the training that ultimate goal in mind! During my journey to pro, there were many many tears shed, but it was all worth it! 
Personal life: I went through somewhat of a quarter life crisis at 25 years old, I had built a life I thought was forever but it fell apart and had to completely start over. I hit rock bottom, started fresh, and bodybuilding and competing is what brought back my strength and drive in life. Everything happens for a reason! 

14) Did you make any changes to your contest prep for your last show? Water intake, carbing up, etc...

Same as always! Feedback each show was to come in tighter and leaner in my back side. 

15) What do you think of bikini division?

I love it. I love the look and the performance each girl brings to the stage. It's always exciting to see how each competitor presents their physique. I love to watch posing and see the gorgeous hand made suits! Physiques in the bikini division can be diverse, but overall I love that it's feminine yet strong! 

16) What are your favorite foods to eat right after you compete on a Saturday night?

Pizza!!! Or a delicious burger & sweet potato fries. 

17) Please tell us about how you were raised and did you have any interesting experiences while growing up?

I was born and raised in Cincinnati, Ohio! My parents were high school sweethearts and have been married for 30+ years. My mom and dad raised my sister and I on solid manors and good morals. My dad is the hardest worker I know, and he is an expert at what he does. He truly is inspiring. Through his hard work and passion in his field, I have learned to do the same. My mom is the most supporting and loving woman you will ever meet, I value her guidance and optimism in life. She is always there for me! My sister is 4.5 years older than me. Our parents always encouraged us to be involved in something and to do well in school. Education and activity was always held as a high value in our family. I'd say my parents were moderately strict, but I still managed to cause some trouble in high school! You live and you learn :) 

18) Do you have an athletic background? Gymnastics, soccer, volleyball or what?

I used to dance, cheer, and do gymnastics. I played soccer for a little when I was really young :) 

Jessica Schiefer

19) What is a typical day in the life of Jessica Schiefer? From waking up to until going to bed?

I work full time, and train after work. I do travel a lot on weekends. 2015 has been such a busy year for me. There have only been a few weekends where I had nothing to do and now where to be. My work week currently consists of working Monday-Thursday 630am-430pm. After work I head home, get ready for the gym, and go train! After the gym I always pack and prepare for the next day as far as food/meals go! 

20) What is your current occupation? Please tell us more about it, what do you specifically do in your job?

I am a registered dental hygienist. I typically work 37-38 hours a week. We work 4 days out of the week, so the days are fast-paced and long. Yes, we sit to work on patients. But my schedule is busy so it's a lot of hustling room to room! Never a dull moment! Some days it's tough to get a meal in every 3 hours, but I make it work! 
I have been practicing as a dental hygienist for about 5.5 years. I graduated in 2010 from the Ohio State University with my bachelors degree in dental hygiene! 


Back to Issues


© 2004-2012 HardFitness Design All right reserved.