Issue #135


by Juan Carlos Lope

20 Questions with Cover Model Allison Sinisi

Video Interview with Amateur Bikini Jill McMillin

Allison Sinisi, Megan Granucci, Assunta Catalano, Casey Samsel & Chelsea Keyasko

Video Interview with Pro Physique Lisa Horrigan


20 Questions with Cover Model Allison Sinisi

Allison Sinisi

1) Please introduce yourself? What makes you special? Who is Allison Sinisi?

I am a 28 year old entrepreneur currently living in Greensburg, PA. I have an MBA in Business Marketing and currently will be working on my Training Certificate for 2016. I love photography and specialize in children’s portraiture. I recently started working as a coach for Beachbody so that I can help others with their fitness and health goals. I love to travel, read (a lot), and cook/bake healthy and macro-friendly foods.

2) Please tell us a bit about your family, friends and surroundings?

My family is living about an hour away from where I currently live. I have a sister and brother, both graduates of Penn State University. They are both (thankfully) into health and fitness as well, and we frequently share ideas! My friends and family are very supportive of my journey in the fitness industry and are very motivational.

3) How did you start competing in physique?

I chose to move to the physique division in 2016, after competing in Bikini in 2013 and then Figure in 2014. I easily build muscle and physique is also more suiting for my personality.

4) What is your personal policy (not what the judges want) about conditioning and muscularity when coming into a show? Soft or hard?

I feel that the conditioning needs to be on point and a competitor should be able to look “shredded,” however for the final package on stage I feel that a full, soft muscle belly looks more feminine.

5) What is your idea of what judges want in a physique competitor? Do you think judges are clear enough with competitors about how they want you on stage? It seems in Europe they are very clear unlike in the USA and now in Canada things are confusing.

I think that the judges are clear enough for what they want for amateur competitors. They want a feminine, soft look without cross striations and too much vascularity. They also consider the entire package, which I feel is extremely important when judging a competition. Hair, makeup, and suit are all factors that should be considered.

6) For the next shows what do you think you need to work on physique-wise/conditioning-wise? If anything!

I need to improve my glute-hamstring tie-in. My legs are my problem area for conditioning.

7) What is your typical training routine in the gym (per day, include sets and reps!) How much cardio do you do before a show?

My training varies daily, depending on my coach check-in with Allen Cress at Maximum Performance Training. Cardio increased to an average of 1.5 hrs a day the last 8 weeks out from a competition this last time. We are hoping to change that for the next.

Allison Sinisi

8) What is your pre-contest diet? (per day, 1 week before the show)

We use macro numbers to determine diet, and this changes frequently the week before the show. There is not a set number that is used. Pictures and daily updates determine these numbers.

9) How do you go about dropping your water before the day of the show? How much water do you drink the day of the show. Please be specific.

We only dropped water the evening before the show, to sipping until after the prejudging.

10) What motivates you to train/diet and compete? Are there any competitors you looked up to?

The ability to see how far you can push your body. Competing is about personal development and motivation. I feel that its a battle against yourself, and after completion the reward is so much greater when you think of it that way. I love Julianna Malacarne!

11) Please tell us an interesting experience you had at a show recently, be it a fun thing or something rather not so fun?

Being a part of the Arnold Classic was amazing! Being backstage with international competitors, and sharing a stage with so many beautiful women was a great experience for me!

12) What is your personal opinion about the figure, fitness, bodybuilding industry we are in? Anything you would like to see changed?

There are always things that can be “changed” to make an industry more inviting. However, if one is in the sport to be a better version of themselves, then the changes shouldn’t matter to them. I like to think the I am here to compete against myself only, and all other victories are a bonus.

Allison Sinisi

13) What has been your hardest challenge to overcome either in your personal life or competing career?

The hardest challenge for me is reverse dieting after a show, and I think that most competitors (especially females) feel this way. There is no stage date, there (sometimes) isn’t a coach watching you, and cravings become out of control.

14) Did you make any changes to your contest prep for your last show? Water intake, carbing up, etc…

I changed coaches, and Allen Cress has done a fantastic job with my last prep. I have been working with him for almost a year now, and he has been able to learn my body and change it for the better.

15) What do you think of bikini division?

I think of it the same as any division, the competitors work hard, present themselves on stage, and deserve recognition for their hard work.

16) What are your favorite foods to eat right after you compete on a Saturday night?

Nachos and ice cream are my go-to foods.. and of course Peanut Butter

17) Please tell us about how you were raised and did you have any interesting experiences while growing up?

I was raised to focus on work, work, work. This definitely gave me my serious drive and motivation to work hard at anything I do and give it 100%. If I can’t do something 100%, then I do not go after it until I know that I can. I also was the oldest child with working parents. This put me in the position of taking care of my brother and sister most of the time. I feel that it helped to mature my mentality early in life, helped me realize what I want, and work hard for my goals.

18) Do you have an athletic background? Gymnastics, soccer, volleyball or what?

I was in track and field, volleyball, cross-country, softball, and basketball

19) What is a typical day in the life of Allison Sinisi ? From waking up to until going to bed?

I wake up around 6am, make coffee, and make a goal list for my day. I work most days, at least a few hours a day at my computer desk. I work from home and live above my photography studio, so I have access to everything all the time (a good and bad thing). I have been doing full body circuits in the morning/afternoon a few times a week, and go to the gym in the evening for weight training. Each day I have been working for at least 10 minutes on personal development, whether that be to read a chapter of a motivational book, research online, or listen to an audio book. In the evening sometimes I relax by watching TV and follow up with any client emails/social media requests.

Allison Sinisi

20) What is your current occupation? Please tell us more about it, what do you specifically do in your job?

I own a photography studio, where I am the head photographer. We specialize in weddings and children’s portraits. I am an insurance broker, specializing in Medicare heath insurance that I visit most clients in their home and help with determining the best plan to suit their current needs. I recently also joined Beachbody as a Coach to help people with their fitness goals. This is a major passion of mine!


Back to Issues


© 2004-2015 HardFitness Design All right reserved.