Issue #82


by Juan Carlos Lope

20 Questions with Cover Model Angela Kirkland

Video Interview with Cover Model Angela Kirkland

Elite Fitness & Figure Newsletter
by Greg Hasberry

Angela Kirkland, Lisa Watson, Betheny Harold, Jen Jewell & Sophie Simmons

Video Interview with Amateur Bikini Desiree Larios

Hustlin' with Heather Hirmer Interview

Video Interview with Amateur Bikini Magan Newingham


20 Questions with Cover Model Angela Kirkland

Angela Kirkland

1) Please introduce yourself? What makes you special? Who is Angela Kirkland?

Lets see...and start simple by saying I am Angela Kirkland. I was born in the midwest and spent the duration of my life between there and New York.  Pretty simple and laid back person who is driven and tender hearted and if I can say without sounding concieted...one heck of a great cook!  :)   You haven't experienced flavor until you have had my culinary creations!!!! 

2) Please tell us a bit about your family, friends and surroundings?

I am in a relationship with a great man I adore, Abbas Khatami.  We currently live in Orange County, California and its beautiful!  Grateful to have a better half in my life to wake up to everyday!   Think every girl has that one true girlfriend they can turn to for anything, for me that is my old college roommate Kristy Parr.  She has been my best friend since I was 16 and we have shared many things over the course of the years.   As for family, it is no secret, I am kind of on my own.  Not every person is blessed with a strong family or support.  I have learned to adapt and accept what I cannot control and from that have developed a true sense of appreciation for those in my life.   

3) How did you start competing in figure?

My start in figure is comical looking back....it began in a former relationship.  The guy I was dating was starting prep and I jumped in...hey I wasn't going to be the ugly duckling out of the 2 or the one without abs.  I started training, ate what he ate and won the overall at my first show.

4) What is your personal policy (not what the judges want) about conditioning and muscularity when coming into a show? Soft or hard?

Looking back at the shows I competed in, I always had an in between look.  I was never soft or overly hard.   I always had good condition and feel my best look was at the Jr. USA's in 2009.   

5)  What is your idea of what judges want in a Figure competitor? Do you think judges are clear enough with competitors about how they want you on stage? It seems in Europe they are very clear unlike in the USA and now in Canada things are confusing.

With everything, I feel judging is very subjective and difficult.  Its hard to pin point per say when you are judging so many bodies and each judge has their own personal take/opinion as well.  I think its a challenging job on their end.

Angela Kirkland

6) For the next shows what do you think you need to work on physique-wise/conditioning-wise? If anything!

Even though my days of shows and stage time have come to a close, I always want to improve on my legs and glutes. 

7) What is your typical training routine in the gym (per day, include sets and reps!) How much cardio do you do before a show?

Abbas is training me now!  And is killing me... literally!  We did legs the other night that left me sick...ha!  2 days of hard leg training, 1 day of upper body circuits and 45 minutes of cardio daily.  Previous years for cardio during contest i did 45 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes of HITT cardio following my training at night. 

Leg workout example:

High Step Ups, Cable Glute Kickbacks, Leg Curls and Jump Squats, 30 reps per exercise for 3 rounds

Low Box Squats, Glute Bridges, Walking Lunges and Jump Lunges, 30 reps per exercise for 3 rounds

8) What is your pre-contest diet? (per day, 1 week before the show)

Its been a few years....the last diet I followed prior to a show was a lot of cod, asparagus and white potato until the night before the show.

9) How do you go about dropping your water before the day of the show? How much water do you drink the day of the show. Please be specific.

I drank normally (1 to 11/2 gallons) a day and drop it down to about half a gallon the day before and took Taraxatone.  The morning of the show I would have a liter with the second dose of Taraxatone and sipped throughout the day. 

10) What motivates you to train/diet and compete? Are there any competitors you looked up to?

When I first started I loved the challenge and the opportunity to meet new people.  I have gained great friends over the years. Now I enjoy training to maintain health and to be able to continue to shoot.    

11) Please tell us an interesting experience you had at a show recently, be it a fun thing or something rather not so fun?

Last two shows I have attended, I have had the same gal approach my boyfriend--talk to him but yet look at me the entire time... rather amusing. :)  I always tease him after and say awww someone likes you! 

Angela Kirkland

12) What is your personal opinion about the figure, fitness, bodybuilding industry we are in? Anything you would like to see changed? 

To be honest, nothing I can really say or think to change.... 

13) What has been your hardest challenge to overcome either in your personal life or competing career?

The hardest challenge in life is where I am right now.  Moving to a new area and restarting is an extreme challenge.   I have also had to deal with some crazy side effects from taking the depo pro vera birth control shot.  Any woman reading this that has experienced the same can relate all too well....my weight has increased, energy is down, skin has broken out....its hard not feeling yourself in your own body.   UGGGH!  Sounds shallow to complain, but its hard none the less.  Hoping to find my body again and have the moo mooo gone for the holidays! 

14) Did you make any changes to your contest prep for your last show? Water intake, carbing up, etc...

The last show I competed in the major change for me was having a nutritionist and coach.  Previous shows I had always done my own diet and training.  It was a much different and stricter approach (many who know me know I am a rather poor dieter). 

15) What do you think of bikini division?

I love the bikini division.  I think it is a sexy look and very feminine!   Hey I wanna sport that look everyday!!! 

16) What are your favorite foods to eat right after you compete on a Saturday night?

Oh boy!  May be easier to say what I don't or didn't want to eat! Think its safe to say pizza followed nearly every show as well as a great deal of chocolate....mmmmm 

17) Please tell us about how you were raised and did you have any interesting experiences while growing up?

I was raised in a small town, less than 2000 people. My mom and her husband loved restoring old homes and properties and the house I spent the majority of my life in allowed me to acquire many skills!  I can work an orchard and vineyard, drive a stick shift, drywall, sand, garden and lay a sidewalk.   At 16 I graduated high school after skipping a full year and found myself in private university.  I met my greatest friends during this time, however life had another path paved for me and I woke up in Brooklyn New York.  Fun Fun!!!  I worked as a personal shopper at SAKS 5th Ave.,  a job I loved. 

18) Do you have an athletic background? Gymnastics, soccer, volleyball or what?

I loved all sports and was incredibly active!  I played basketball, volleyball, and ran track.   Volleyball was always my favorite but I excelled at track running 100 and 200 sprints, triple jump and the 800 medley.

Angela Kirkland

19) What is a typical day in the life of Angela Kirkland? From waking up to until going to bed?

Typical day?  Hmmm!  Prior to moving to California, my day to day life was very set and scheduled.  Early cardio, shower, dog walks, work (lots of food orders) and nights at home.   Now there's two!  Sleep until around 8am, have coffee, go for cardio, make breakfast, plan the day, errands, cooking, gym time,  more cooking and nights relaxing. :) 

20) What is your current occupation? Please tell us more about it, what do you specifically do in your job?

Right now I am a full time girlfriend, cookbook author and creator, private chef and personal trainer.   I cook daily and try to develop a new and tasty creation several times a week.  My current project is my hardback book---a cookbook full of over 200 recipes (from smoothies to treats to fully planned healthy meals!)

Back to Issues


© 2004-2011 HardFitness Design All right reserved.