Malea Jensen NPC Bodybuilding

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

I have always been an athlete. I participated in basketball, softball, golf, and volleyball growing up. When I graduated from Wartburg College, I became more involved in weightlifting and did my first show shortly thereafter.

What was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

I loved it! I was so full of enthusiasm, and I knew I was "all that". ONE must have that kind of attitude to be good at what they do, no matter what it is, but also must remember good sportsmanship, and learn to be humble.

What do you like and dislike about competing?

Competing is tough. If you don't like to diet, don't want to do cardio, don't want to pose, then you have no business in the sport. Go lift and be happy!

What are your future goals in this industry?

Of course, I want to make an impact. I have many do not have...........I am a doctor. I have a job to go back to when I come off the stage. I have lives to touch and heal. An added bonus would be my pro card!

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

A Retired Doc!!! I will be lifting hard, doing cardio, and sharing my knowledge with others. I may have a gym, I may not. Heck, I may be running half marathons on the beach some day. Who knows. God will let me know when I ask Him!

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

Oh sheesh, there is not much that people do not know about me. I am an open book. OK, here is one that some know and others don't--I tape my soap every day. I have watched All My Children for the past 15 years. Don't mess with my VCR or you will get a lashing in the gym next time around!!!

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

Of course there are many people I would like to thank! I would like to thank my nurses and coworkers for supporting me with my diet and attitude. They are with me more than anyone. And, I would love to thank my dad for providing me with discipline while growing up. He has taught me so many things about winnig and losing, about being the best I can be all the all that I do. And, I would like to thank my workout partners (Jill, Al, Jim, Cracker, and all my pals at the gym.

Competition History:

not one past placing means a thing the day you go up on stage. The day is YOURS if you have prepared yourself appropriately!

Malea Jensen

Date of Birth: May 16
Born/Grew up in: Born in Benton Harbor, Michigan, but raised for the most part in Spencer, Iowa
Current Residence: Des Moines, Iowa
Marital Status: Single
Height: 5'6"
Weight: Current weight is 150 (off-season); competiton weight is 138
Current Occupation: Family Practice Physician
Favorite Hobby: Lifting weights!!!!!!!!!!!!
Best Bodypart: Back
Favorite Food: Chocolate Chip cookies and Ice Cream
Years Training: 15



© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.