Lisa Arksey CBBF Bodybuilding

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

I have always had a love for muscle! I wanted to compete since i started to go to the gym & see all of the wonderful physiques. I never thought it was possible and convinced myself that i could never attain that kind of physique. I recently did some research and adjusted my diet and my training (march 2003) and that's when it all began. One competition lead to another & now i am addicted to that feeling on stage as well as the change in my physique everyday! The only tough part is dieting, i tend to go overboard on my offseason, which i am trying to get under control next off season.

What was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

During the weigh in i started to cramp severely, I could hardly walk. I was advised to start to sip on some water to balance out my electrolytes & take a few Slow K & Magnesium pills to help. So i did so & was starting to feel a bit better. I drank about a bottle of water that Laura Binetti (Pro bodybuilder) advised me too .I then got paranoid that i was gonna start holding on to water, so i proceeded to take more diuretics. Unfortunately no matter what a professional told me at that point my obsessive side was not listening (i knew better). Well the cramping came back even worse, so bad i almost did not make it through prejudging. I cried on stage, but no one could tell, as i held my smile. All this way to not compete...NOT HAPPENING! I decided to pull through and the severe cramping was on my quads, so i did not flex as hard as i should. Luckily enough my legs were cut enough that i did not need to fully flex. I came through placing first overall!!! Learning a great lesson, always listen to your body!

What do you like and dislike about competing?

Trying to lose my Off Season weight is the down side of competing. But the opportunities that come about each time you are on stage, people that approach you with compliments as well as photo shoot inquiries. Its an awesome feeling. I also enjoy that i can win being natural, i may not have the mass that the other girls do but the whole package as well as a feminine face is what bodybuilding is about!!!

What are your future goals in this industry?

To try and make it as far as i can naturally. I would love to do some modeling as well as one day to have a sponsor and for me to be a well known face in the industry to endorse sport products. I would love to also be on the Olympic team when it is made an official sport or a WWE Diva (another childhood dream).

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

Hopefully still competing and bringing back the femininity to female bodybuilding !I am hoping that my personal training & nutritional background will make a difference in peoples lives. I am in the process of opening my own studio and am determined help my clients achieve their goals. And make them realize it does not have to be a full time job, a little goes a long way as long as your food intake and effort level when exercising matches your goal!

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I am a softy and enjoy cuddling with my boyfriend Jimmy more than anything in the world. I always try to come across as a rough and tough chick * that is the tomb boy in me.

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

I would like to thank my mom & sister for putting up with my mood swings when dieting. I would like to thank my Dad for being so proud of his weight lifter daughter. My old training partner Tracy "little Herc" for her support, and lastly my boyfriend "EYECANDY" Jimmy who is working hard himself to pursue his bodybuilding dreams and currently training me for my up coming competition on June 18, 2005.

Competition History:
-Windsor Cup - Level 1 *2nd place / October 2003
-Western Ontario Bodybuilding Championship - Level 2 *4th place / November 2003
-South Central Mississauga Championships - Level 2 *1st Place - OVERALL June 2004

Lisa Arksey

Date of Birth: July 27, 1976
Born/Grew up in: Hamilton, ON Canada
Current Residence: Hamilton, ON Canada
Marital Status: Single
Height: 5"5
Weight: 160 offseason / 125- 135 competition weight
Current Occupation: Personal Trainer
Favorite Hobby: Eating / weightlifting
Best Bodypart: legs
Favorite Food: everything - cookies & ice cream
Years Training: off and on 10 years & then seriously for 2 years this March 2005


Website: (coming in March 2005) / / (*training site)

© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.