Leigh Keess CBBF Bodybuilding

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

I was the ultimate couch-potato all my life, and one day in my mid-40s I saw an ad in the local paper for a class called Orientation to the Weightroom and it was just for women. A friend and I decided to give it a try..and I got hooked! Even at that basic level, having done NO exercise like that in the past, I began to see changes in my body, and that motivated me to use the gym more than just at class-time. Eventually, I felt I needed a more advanced program, and asked my husband that, for Christmas, I wanted a set of sessions with local bodybuilder, Shelly Yakimchuk. I got them, we became great friends, and it was Shelly that talked me into trying competition. She and her husband, Chris, still coach me through all my precontest work.

How was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

Well, I had never even seen a bodybuilding show before entering my first one, so I didnt even know enough to be nervous. All through contestprep, I kind of had it in my mind that at the last minute I would find some excuse not to go (I really WAS painfully shy) but suddenly there I was out on stageand I absolutely loved it!! I have done at least one show a year ever since.

What do you like and dislike about competing?

The best part of competing comes during the preparation, watching the cuts and definition reappear. There is nothing that I dislike about competing.

What are your future goals in this industry?

I began judging at the Novice level last year, and really enjoy thatso I hope to pursue that to the Provincial level this year, then perhaps beyond.

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

Yikes! That will make me 63, so who knows!!! I intend to be a fit 63, though!

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

Of course, first and foremost has to be my husband, Colin; without his support, and sometimes physically dragging me to the gym, I could never have accomplished the things I have done!! And, my coaches, Chris & Shelly Yakimchuk.they took a 49-year-old couch potato and turned her into a National champion!! And Ill be forever grateful for that.

Competition History:
-Novice: 4th place Womens Open Sask. Provincials: 1st place Womens Open Womens Overall (giving lifetime bye to Nationals) 2003:
-Sask. Provincials: 2nd place Womens Middleweight, 3rd place Womens Masters -Can, Nationals: 11th place Womens Middleweight, 9th place Womens Masters
-Provincials: 1st place Womens Heavyweight, 1st place Womens Masters
-Provincials: 1st place Womens Heavyweight, 1st place Womens Masters
-Provincials: 1st place Womens Middleweight, 1st place Womens Grand Masters Womens Overall, Best Female Poser -Nationals: 1st place Womens Grand Masters

Leigh Keess

Date of Birth: March 6th., 1953 (yes, that makes me 53!)
Born/Grew up in: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada.
Current Residence: Halifax, Nova Scotia for 5 years,
Marital Status: Married
Height: 5'6
Weight: 150-160 lbs
Current Occupation: registered nurse
Favorite Hobby: my hobby used to be training, then I got serious about it, so my hobby then became training other people, but that has grown into a business so the closest I come to having a hobby these days is to read during my down-time
Favorite Food: roast beef and Yorkshire pudding.
Favorite Music: I love Celtic, Reggae and good ol Rock n Roll
Best Bodypart: biceps, I thinkthey respond easily to training and I am blessed with a nice genetic peak
Years Training: about 8-9

Email: fitrnmom2@yahoo.ca


© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.