Holly Nicholson NPC Bodybuilding

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

I was always a bit of an athlete when I was growing up- gymnastics, swimming, diving, and I have always loved muscle (male or female). Thats probably where the inspiration came from to take my physique a step or two further. Muscle is sexy, no doubt about it! With the muscle came a lot of strength, and I wanted to become a firefighter, so I geared my training in that direction. I had several people ask me if I was getting ready to do a show, which of course I scoffed at ( then gave it another thought) and next thing you know I was on stage and having a blast! I never knew what a ham I was until I tried it. What an incredible experience!

What was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

Everyone backstage was so helpful and it was so fun. I did very well (1st heavyweight, best poser, womens overall champion) and couldnt wait to go again!

What do you like and dislike about competing?

I actually enjoy the dieting part of it. Putting together a posing routine is a lot of fun and hard work, but I enjoy that part, too.

What are your future goals in this industry?

No matter where I place when I compete, I have tried my best to improve with every show, and make new friends along the way. I plan on competing as long as my body will let me. This summer I will do the World Police and Fire Games in Quebec Canada, and the Masters Nationals in Pittsburg. I am looking forward to both. The Games for firefighters and police all over the world are a fantastic experience,. It gives me the opportunity to compete on an international level, (in other sports as well as bodybuilding) and to interact with people I have so much in common with. The brotherhood and camaraderie are unbelievable!!

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

I dont think theres a future as a pro for me, but I look forward to competing at the National level for as long as I can.

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I have a 24 yr old son and an 8 yr old daughter. Ive been married 3 times and each time I get better at being single! Bodybuilding has opened so many doors for me, and been such a positive influence in my life. With discipline comes strength, and with strength comes beauty- inner and outer. I wouldnt change a thing about my past, it is what has made me the person I am today. If I can influence one woman in this world to make herself stronger, I will be happy. I wish all women could feel proud and empowered , and carry themselves that way!

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

I want to thank my children for putting up with my training and dieting and for doing without goodies in the house, and for taking me to school for show-n-tell. It made me proud! My boyfriend JJ deserves thanks also, for supporting me and keeping me going and thinking that muscle is sexy. And thanks to my non-training surrogate family for humoring me, and reminding me that its okay to miss a day of training now and then, and that I wont die if I eat something I shouldnt!! I especially want to thank the boys at the firehouse for putting up with me when Im cranky and tired, even if I am the Food Nazi-I love you all!

Competition History:

-1991 Las Vegas Classic- 1st place heavyweight, Best Poser, Overall
-1992 Emerald Cup Classic- 1st place heavyweight, Overall
-1992 Las Vegas Classic- 2nd place heavyweight, Best Poser
-1994 Nevada State Championship- 1st place heavyweight, Overall
-2002 7th World Firefighter Games, Christchurch New Zealand- Gold Medal Womens Bodybuilding
-2003 Las Vegas Classic- !st place Middleweight, 2nd place Masters
-2004 8th World Firefighter Games, Sheffield England- Gold Medal Womens Bodybuilding

Holly Nicholson

Date of Birth: July 2nd 1960
Born/Grew up in: San Diego was my place of birth, but I was raised as a military brat and lived pretty much all over Europe and the USA.
Current residence: Las Vegas, Nevada (sin city!)
Marital Status: This week? Ummm...single but involved. Hes a great guy, but I'm a big chicken!
Height: 5'7"
Weight: Off season 155-160, contest weight 135 lbs.
Current Occupation: Im an Engineer/Paramedic with the Clark County Fire Dept, I've been on the job as a firefighter for 13 yrs now.
Favorite Hobby: Weight training of course! Followed closely by time with my kids, interior decorating, and golf.
Favorite food: Probably Thai food- I love it hot and spicy!
Favorite music: Anything I can dance to. I like the old standards in jazz, too. And Eminem...and classical....
Best bodypart: I'd probably have to say my abs- when Im lean. My hamstrings arent bad, either.
Years training: Too many to count. Lets see, I started getting serious when I was 28. Thats about 16 yrs.

Email: Rsqme1@aol.com I LOVE email! but I dont wrestle or anything of the sort, so please dont go there!

Website: Should I have a website??

© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.