Carri Ledford-Baldwin IFBB Bodybuilding

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

Was dating a guy who had a trainer, taught aerobics, and the trainer (Darrell Terrell) talked me into trying freeweights and competing. Did my first show in 1994 Red River Classic, won the overall novice division and the rest is history

How was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

I was pretty quiet and shy before that, still am to an extent. I had self-esteem issues, and after competing you look at yourself with a lot more respect when you accomplish a task. AFter I swelled up, nearl 20 lbs in 48 hours, learned my lesson that week.

What do you like and dislike about competing? I like the girls I meet and compete with, made a lot of friends. Everyone is usually very helpful even when their stressed as well. I dislike the sodium and water depletion! And all the scrubbing to get the protan off.

What are your future goals in this industry?

I compete because I love it and it gives me motivation to keep this lifestyle, it is a lifestyle and definitely keeps me in shape for my job, where lives to depend on me! Goals, to stand on the Olympia stage even if its only one time and get all the autographs I can while I am there!

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

I want to be an officer on the job, Sergeant/Lieutant then a Major and still competing! To be a recognized Pro FBB and be in a position to financially help and support the girls. We hopefully will have another child before too long, after all I am 41.

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I like working with the special olympics powerlifting meets, did it once and it was eyeopening experience. These kids never give up and push until they hit the ground, no less. They are all heart. I am also an avid animal lover, I pick up too many strays! Would like to open an unwanted animal sanctuary!

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

A list of people! My husband Bren and my son, they put up with me the most. Howie Huddleston, Darrell Terrell (laid the ground work for my ethics in training) Sherry, my partner/friend for 9 years, beside me through every step of my life accomplishments and disappointments, and my friend Shannon Young, who never gives up and never quits giving, oh, my chiropractor Tim Young!

Competition History:
-1994 Red River Overall Novice
-1995 Ms. Oklahoma; 1996 Red River Middleweight champ
-1999 Jr. Nationals MW champ; 2000 USA MW 12th
-2001 Ms. Red River
-2002 Nationals 8th MW
-2003 USA 6th HVYWT
-2004 2nd HW Oklahoma Championship
-2004 USA 1st LTHVY & Overall and Pro Card

Carri Ledford

Date of Birth: March 4, 1963
Born/Grew up in: Born and raised in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Current Residence: Yukon, Oklahoma
Marital Status: Married July 16, 2004
Height: 5'4"
Weight: off-season 175 contest 140
Current Occupation: Corporal/firefighter
Favorite Hobby: co-ed softball; forensic science
Favorite Food: Grilled Salmon and peanutbutter &jelly sandwiches
Favorite Music: Country (Kenny Chesney/Allison Kraus; Rock (ACDC; KISS); like German/French opera
Best Bodypart:: Calves & glutes I am told
Years Training: 10 years



© 2004 HardFitness Design All right reserved.