Bonny Priest IFBB Bodybuilding

How did you get interested in bodybuilding/working out?

It started when I was in about the 5th or 6th grade in the early '80's. My mother used to buy me the muscle mags each month. I thought those girls were so cool. I would look at the mags for hours everyday "dreaming" that someday I could be like that. Never thinking that someday I would be on the pro stage myself.

What was your first show like, any interesting experiences?

I won my first show. That gave me the hunger to do more. To worked hard to begin fine tuning my physique (which is a never ending process even today). The interesting experiences were the guest posers there (Dorian Yates & Lisa Lewis). Hell, I had never even been to a show before, so winning and getting to see some of the people from the magazines was completely amazing.

What do you like and dislike about competing?

I absolutely love being on stage. At that point in the contest prep, I know that I look the best I've ever looked in my life. For that moment I feel more confident & happier than ever. My favorite part is the posing routine. I've worked a lot of years trying to perfect the routine and bring a little more entertainment to the audience, but it wasn't until the SW Pro Cup in 2004 (I won) that I had ever hired someone to help me with it. Sheila Brown was the person I chose. She's awesome! She brought something to my routines that had never been there before. The only thing I don't like about competition is the endless cardio and dieting, but once I'm there, I love it!!!

What are your future goals in this industry?

Well, as you know, for the time being, there doesn't seem to be much of a future for women's bb'ing. For that reason, I work hard to make the money at home. Of course every bodybuilder would love the ultimate title of Ms. Olympia. I'll keep working hard toward that goal, but if it never comes, I feel blessed to be right where I am.

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

To be honest, it won't be competing. I can't really see myself doing this past the age of 40. It's so hard on the body. But I will continue to make our gym & the personal training business a success. I think I will always be in the industry, just in a different realm. Maybe only helping others prepare for shows, etc.

Please tell us something special about you that most people wouldn't know?

I have a very forgiving heart toward others, but not of myself. I am extremely modest. If someone asks me to show my bicep or anything, it embarrasses the crap out of me. When I train, people don't even realize what I look like until they see pictures of me from a show. I hate the camera, so most of the time, my husband has to make me do the photo shoots.

Any additional notes? People you would like to thank?

First and foremost, the good lord up above, my husband, Alan, and my mom. They have always been there for me through everything. If I didn't have them, I wouldn't be where I am today. Then I'd like to thank my friends here at the gym who always support me 100% (especially Karen & Pam). And last but not least, the fans of women's bodybuilding. For without them, the sport would be dead and gone.

Competition History:

-1997 Heart of Texas (novice) -- 1st heavyweight & overall
-1998 Texas State Championships (open/nat. qual.) -- 1st heavyweight & overall
-1999 Jr. Nationals -- 3rd heavyweight
-2000 (I did a little powerlifting) set a world record bench press (352lbs.), set a TX state record in deadlift (501lbs.), & a state record in total of 1306lbs. I also set a personal record in squats (451lbs.). This was all done in one meet at the weight of 172lbs.
-2002 SW USA (open/nat. qual.) -- 1st heavyweight & overall (I had to requalify for nationals)
-2002 Nationals -- 7th heavyweight
-2003 USA's -- 1st heavyweight & overall (got my PRO CARD)
-2004 Ms. International -- 7th heavyweight
-2004 SW Pro Cup -- 1st heavyweight & overall (qualified for the Ms. Olympia)
-2004 Ms. Olympia -- 7th heavyweight

Bonny Priest

Date of Birth: 6/16/72
Born in: Bellville, TX (outside Houston)
Grew up in: Fredericksburg, TX (an hour NW or San Antonio)
Current Residence: San Angelo, TX (west Texas)
Marital Status: Married in 1998 (no kids)
Height: 5' 5 1/2"
Weight: 185 (off season & not too fat) & 155-160 pre-contest
Current Occupation: Gym owner/personal trainer
Favorite Hobby: baking & bodybuilding of course
Favorite Food: anything with chocolate & sugar free popsicles
Favorite Music: a little bit of everything
Best Bodypart: probably my back & abs
Years Training: 9 years as of Jan. '05



© 2004 HardFitness Design All rights reserved.