Issue #53


by Juan Carlos Lope

2009 California Pro Photos and Results

2009 California Pro Review

2009 Contra Costa Photos and Results

2009 Contra Costa Review

20 Questions with Cover Model Kimberly Martin

Video Interview with 2010 HardFitness Calendar Cover Model Jenny Lynn

Interview with UK Amateur IFBB Figure Louise Rogers
by Anne Pietila

Video Interview NPC Figure Michelle Watson

Kimberly Martin, Michele Bigler, Sheri Suppes, Tiffany Waddell & Tori Briggs

Video Interview with NPC Bikini Anca Marcus




20 Questions with Cover Model Kimberly Martin

Kimberly Martin

1) Please introduce yourself? What makes you special? Who is Kimberly Martin?

My name is Kimberly Martin. I am 39 years old and live outside of Atlanta. I've began working out back in 1988 during my first year of college and fell in love with it instantly.

2) Please tell us a bit about your family, friends and surroundings?

I'm happily married to my best friend, Kerry...we've been married for 12 years and have two wonderful boys, Koby age 12 and Kace age 4 1/2.

3) How did you start with modeling?

Modeling began when I met a photographer back in 1999 that wanted to use me for a poster advertisement for a bikini contest. I realized I liked it and started doing small jobs for fun.

4) What are your thoughts about stepping on stage as of right now?

Probably not going to happen. I had every intention to do a show, but realized early on that I didn't want to be the size that some of the competitors are. I also don't want to let judges tell me what my body should look like. I have always worked out because I love it and training for a show took all the fun out of it.

5) What is your idea of what judges want in a Figure competitor?

Do you think judges are clear enough with competitors about how they want you on stage? It seems in Europe they are very clear unlike in the USA

6) What was it like being at the Arnold Classic this 2008?

I had a great time! It was my first expo; I met a lot of the industries fitness icons and definitely plan on attending more of them in the future!

7) What is your typical training routine in the gym (per day, include sets and reps!) How much cardio do you do?

I do no cardio but I'll probably start soon as I'm not getting any younger!

Kimberly Martin

8) What type of foods do you have in your diet?

Mostly eggs and egg whites, chicken, tuna, steak, turkey bacon, almonds, brown rice (sometimes), lots of salads w/my homemade light dressing, green veggies, oatmeal, and natural peanut butter.

9) How do you prepare mentally, physically and emotionally for a photoshoot?

I don't really have to prepare mentally or emotionally. I try to make sure I'm never farther than 2 weeks away from being in 'photoshoot shape' all year round. A little more one-legged leg press, standing cable kickbacks, cutting out sodium and my cheat day are really all it takes.

10) What motivates you to train/diet?

The way I look and feel. Also knowing that I am my own inspiration. I can look back and see my potential and know whether I'm being the best 'me' I can be.

11) Please tell us an interesting experience you had recently, be it a fun thing or something rather not so fun?

12) What is your personal opinion about the figure, fitness, bodybuilding industry we are in? Anything you would like to see changed?

I really like the figure genre. But I can tell it's becoming a lot like women's bodybuilding when it first began in terms of the size of the women's physiques. It's very difficult to specify what is a winning physique...it's an objective point of view.

Kimberly Martin

13) What has been your hardest challenge to overcome either in your personal life or competing career?

Being married and having kids and trying to juggle the opportunities that come my way and being a wife and stay at home mom.

14) What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

Hopefully still modeling and definitely still training with a goal of looking the best I can @ the age of 49.

15) What is your opinion about the 20% rule the IFBB issued to some female athletes in which the more muscular competitors had to loose 20% of muscle mass? Why do you think they did it? Do you think competitors will follow it? Or it will get lost around somewhere?

I think it's a good idea but it probably won't last. It seems every time less muscle is preferred it doesn't take long for more muscle to slowly become the norm.

16) How do you balance your family life with competing and dieting for shows? Do you have a support system around you (family, etc...)?

My husband has been a very important part of my training (as a workout partner) and w/my diet - even dieting with me at times. He's attended some of the smaller shows w/me as well as the Arnold in 2008. Without his support I couldn't and wouldn't have been able to accomplish much in this business.

Kimberly Martin

17) Please tell us about how you were raised and did you have any interesting experiences while growing up?

My parents divorced when I was 15 but they have always been two of my best friends. I can basically discuss anything w/my mother and father which has helped me be a better parent.

18) Do you have an athletic background? Gymnastics, soccer, volleyball or what?

I played softball during middle school and high school. I also ran some track during high school. I've always like sports and enjoyed horseback riding as well as water skiing my entire life. I started playing racquetball in college and fell in love w/it - eventually winning against the teacher!

19) What is a typical day in the life of Kimberly Martin? From waking up to until going to bed?

Wake up @ 7am. Make breakfast and bag lunch for my 11-yr old son. Get him to school. Around 8:30 get my 4 year old up and make his breakfast and mine. Play with him a bit and do some laundry. Eat my second meal around 11:30. Go to the gym around 1:30. Home by 2:30 or 3 and prepare lunch for my son and my 3rd meal. Clean and/or do laundry. Put son down for nap and pay bills, make phone calls, etc...4:00 make snack for oldest son when he gets home from school and help w/homework. 5pm Begin cooking dinner. 6pm eat w/family. 8 pm Tv time w/family then bath time. 9pm Eat 5th meal and 10pm bedtime.

Kimberly Martin

20) What is your current occupation? Please tell us more about it, what do you specifically do in your job?

I am a stay-at-home mom right now and I love it. I will probably begin working part-time when my youngest son begins preschool. As a mother and wife I am the resident chauffeur, cook, waitress, janitor and maid...but I love it!


Back to Issues


© 2004 HardFitness Design All right reserved.