Issue #15


by Juan Carlos Lopez

Arnold Classic 2006 Photos and Results

Arnold Classic 2006 Review

Arnold Classic Expo Review and Photo Gallery

San Francisco Grand Prix Pro Figure and Steel Rose Photos and Results

San Francisco Grand Prix Pro Figure and Steel Rose Review

Finland's Boosman Fitness Classic Preview
by Kaisa Piippo

20 Questions with our Cover Model: IFBB Figure Pro Waleska Valle

Video Interview with Cover Model: Waleska Valle

Christian Podgorski: Bodybuilding Art

Waleska Valle, Amy Huber, Holly Powell, Danielle Rouleau & Liz Lozano

Getting a Figure Pro Card in Europe
by Annika Warg

Video Interview: NPC Figure Megan Payan

The Joy of Dieting
by Kaisa Piippo

Video Interview: CBBF Figure Roxana Kreklo

Roxana Kreklo Profile of a True Athlete

Tweaking that Figure Posing
by Linda Cusmano

Video Interview: Model and Competitor Tina Jo Orban

20 Questions with Cover Model: Waleska Valle

1) Please introduce yourself? What makes you special? Who is Waleska Valle?

My name is Waleska Valle, born and raised in Los Angeles CA.  I am 28 years old and live in San Diego.  My nationality is half Honduran and half Palestinian which makes for an interesting attitude!  I graduated from San Diego State University in 2000 with a degree in Exercise Nutritional Sciences emphasis in Nutrition.  I am a personal trainer at Planet Fitness in La Jolla and currently train at San Diego State University gym (Aztec Recreation Center) with my trainer of nine years Randy Shelton.

2) Please tell us a bit about your family, friends and surroundings?

Without  my family I would not be who I am today.  Being raised by a single mother, my mom is my best friend and my #1 supporter.  She has taught me to follow my dreams because only I can make them happen.  Without my younger sister my pro-tan would not look as good as it does...they have not missed a show yet!  I am very close to my family most of which live in San Diego, LA,and Honduras.

3) How did you start competing in figure (NPC)?

I started competing in the NPC at the tender age of 21.  I started with bodybuilding, then tried fitness, then (thank God) Figure was born!  I have been competing in Figure for almost 4 years now and I love it!

4) What is your personal policy (not what the judges want) about conditioning and muscularity when coming into a show? Soft or hard?

My personal policy has always been to come to my next show always looking better than my last.   I think of myself as an athlete, therefore I train like one,  always trying to improve my performance but especially my physique seeing as that is what Figure is all about.  As I get older I know that as a woman I can hold onto my muscle mass better due to muscle maturity, therefore, I look forward to every year knowing that my body will improve.

5) What is your idea of what judges want in a Figure competitor? Do you think judges are clear enough with competitors about how they want you on stage?

I feel that judges are looking for someone who is very toned and defined without being extreme.  Someone who is athletic looking yet feminine.  If you ask the judges after the show what you need to work on I feel that they are honest with you and give you good feedback.  Some judges preferences do vary so you can't ever be 100 percent certain on what they are looking for.

6) For the next shows what do you think you need to work on physique-wise/conditioning-wise? If anything!

My next show I plan on competing in is the California Pro-Figure championships.  I am going to focus on getting my back a little wider and my lower body a little smaller...per the judges request.

7) What is your typical training routine in the gym (per day, include sets and reps!) How much cardio do you do before a show?

My typical training routine includes: lifting 6 days a week,  3 sets per exercise, 15-20 reps per set. Before a show I will do cardio 6 days a week for 1 hour a day at very high intensity.

8) What is your pre-contest diet? (per day, 1 week before the show)

My pre-contest diet is very plain...I will start with 1/2 a cup of oatmeal in water and splenda, followed by a Whey protein shake, for lunch I will have a chicken breast (boneless,skinless) and a medium yam, my next snack will be another shake, and finally for dinner I will have a piece of fish and all the salad and veggies my little heart desires!

9) How do you go about dropping your water before the day of the show? Please be specific.

Up until 2 days before the show I drink about a gallon of water a day...2 days before I will drop to about 1 liter per day, and the day of just sipping.

10) What motivates you to train/diet and compete? Are there any competitors you look up to?

I motivate to train, diet and compete.  I do this for me and for my love of being fit!  However, without my trainer I would not be where I am today, it is hard to work day after day without him pushing me.  I'd have to say that Monica Brant is the fitness icon that got me hooked, nowadays there are many great females that I look up too!

11) Please tell us an interesting experience you had at a show recently, be it a fun thing or something rather not so fun?

A rather not so fun experience was at the Sacramento Pro show last year, I forgot to bring gel or mouse for my curly hair and had to go on stage with my hair looking like a fro!  Never make that mistake again!!!!!

12) What is your personal opinion about the figure, fitness, bodybuilding industry we are in? Anything you would like to see changed?

The only thing I would like to see changed in the Fitness and Figure industry that I'm in is that I hope that the the best competitor who deserved to win, wins.  No politics, no nonsense, may the best competitor win!

13) From the shows you have competed so far during your career which one was the best (or most fun) for you and why?

To this date the best and most fun show I have done has to be this last one the San Francisco Pro 2006 because it was my 3rd pro- show and I felt more comfortable on stage than I have felt in a while!

14) Did you make any changes to your contest prep for the SF Pro Grand Prix 2006? Water intake, carbing up, etc...

The changes I made for the SF pro- show 2006 was to come in a little smaller than last year...so I didn't lift as heavy and did a bit more cardio.

15) What is your opinion about the 20% rule the IFBB issued to some female athletes? Why do you think they did it? Do you think competitors will follow it? Or it will get lost around somewhere?

I think the 20% rule is actually good.  I feel that some Figure competitors were crossing the line of too muscular.  I still think it will take some time for all the competitors to get exactly what the judges are looking for because they vary on what they want.

16) What was your overall experience at the SF Pro Grand Prix 2006? What did you think of its organization? Tells us the good, the bad and the ugly about this show? What was different to you from last year's edition in San Francisco?

My experience at the SF pro show 2006 was very good.  Everyone backstage got along, it was well organized and ran very smoothly.  I was much more calm than last year and had a great time.

17) Please tell us about how you were raised and did you have any interesting experiences while growing up?

I was raised by my single mother in Los Angeles.  Times were tough growing up because we didn't have much.  However, I feel that it taught me the value of money and hard work.  Nothing in life is for free, nor does it come easy.  You have to work for what you want and eventually you will get it.

18) Do you have an athletic background? Gymnastics, soccer, volleyball or what?

I have played sports all my life growing up.  I played basketball, ran track and field and ran cross country.  They helped shape me as a person. I believe sports are an integral part in everyone's personal growth.

19) What is a typical day in the life of Waleska Valle? From waking up to until going to bed?

I typically wake up in between 5-6 am and go to work.  I train clients from 6 am to 2pm.  I then go to San Diego State University and teach an aerobics class and then I lift weights with my trainer at around 4 pm.  By the time I am done at the gym I will be driving home at around 6pm.  I get home, unpack from my long day, play with my cats (I have two-very cute!)and make dinner.  I pack my food for the next day, check my e-mails, and go to bed.  Then I do it all over again!

20) What is your current occupation? Please tell us more about it, what do specifically do in your job?

I am a personal trainer in La Jolla, San Diego. As mentioned earlier I also teach aerobics classes.  I have been doing this for the past eight years and I love it!

Back to Issues


© 2004 HardFitness Design All right reserved.