Issue #144


by Juan Carlos Lope

20 Questions with Cover Model Andy Borneman

Video Interview with Pro Physique Andy Borneman

Andy Borneman, Angeles Casteran, Nicole Cristell, Nicole Kavala & Tiffany Laumeyer

Video Interview with Amateur Figure Ashley Godfrey

Minimizing your Maximus in Minimal Time
by Tina Jo Orban


20 Questions with Cover Model Andy Borneman

1) Please introduce yourself? What makes you special? Who is Andy Borneman?

Who am I? Well just a mother of 2 who enjoys everything about the fitness industry      Nothing special about me.....well maybe the fact I haven't trained abs or calves In 4 years and they seem to be my best body parts is special? Lmao 

2) Please tell us a bit about your family, friends and surroundings? 

I have 2 sisters and a mother who are my best friends. They help me with so much I wouldn't have been able to have achieved my IFBB pro status with out them . I have a few real friends who support my life style.  My two children ages 9 and 10 are my biggest fans and love that they have a buff mommy. 

3) How did you start competing in physique? 

I actually started in bikini In 2012 and then moved to figure after 2 shows I did one figure show and the judge told me physique would b a better fit.  I thought it was actually unattractive and way too muscular I didn't think I looked like that but I gave  it a shot in 2013 and had great success in it! Then I loved it! I loved getting bigger and to me I can never be too big! 

4) What is your personal policy (not what the judges want) about conditioning and muscularity when coming into a show? Soft or hard? 

I like hard but full look and my  conditioning is everything to me. 

5)  What is your idea of what judges want in a physique competitor? Do you think judges are clear enough with competitors about how they want you on stage? It seems in Europe they are very clear unlike in the USA and now in Canada things are confusing.

I think they do now, I think they want a package full muscles bellies and symmetrical, conditioned, and feminine with stellar posing 

6) For the next shows what do you think you need to work on physique-wise/conditioning-wise? If anything! 

This off season I focused on thickness in my back and glutes so hopefully bringing fuller backside this season 

7) What is your typical training routine in the gym (per day, include sets and reps!) How much cardio do you do before a show?

I usually train 7 days a week in the off season I hit lower reps very heavy weight with about 3 days a week of 60 min cardio 
When on prep for a show I do fasted cardio 6 days a week 45 min and train around 9 am higher reps light weight and then train again around 8 pm with heavier weight after I consumed most my meals and end it with another 45 -60 min of cardio. 

8) What is your pre-contest diet? (per day, 1 week before the show) I keep my carbs fairly high through my entire prep

Usually never drop below 200grams a day.    

9) How do you go about dropping your water before the day of the show? How much water do you drink the day of the show. Please be specific. 

The last show I competed in  where  I earned my pro card     I didn't drop water out. I drank 2 gallons of water for a week and one gallon the night before.  
I also sipped water the day Of the show back stage.

It was something different we tried and it worked out I stayed much fuller and right.

10) What motivates you to train/diet and compete? Are there any competitors you looked up to? 

I never really had a certain competitor that I look up to I do envy certain body parts like tiny waists on some of the girls     I got into the sport completely on my own knowing nothing about it but interested and eager to learn.  

The progress that I've made over the years motivates me.   the support of my fans, my athletes and my children  keep me pushing through. 

Watching my body go through the process leading up to the show fascinates me and keeps me wanting more .

11) Please tell us an interesting experience you had at a show recently, be it a fun thing or something rather not so fun?

12) What is your personal opinion about the figure, fitness, bodybuilding industry we are in? Anything you would like to see changed?  

I would love to see the fitness division become more popular. I would have competed in that division we do not have any fitness divisions in California I grew up as a gymnast and the fitness routines kick ass! 

13) What has been your hardest challenge to overcome either in your personal life or competing career?

Balancing my prep with my day to day life has been a challenge   It's a selfish sport and between work and my athletes and spin classes and children's sports and school events sometimes I won't get my last set of Cardio in until midnight so it's exhausting but the reward at the end makes it all worth it.

Another struggle was getting used to eating actual meals   I am a snacker I could literally snack all on fruit, crackers, trail mix, quest bars and candy all day and never eat real food so that was definitely a lifestyle change that I had to make and still struggle with every single day.   

14) Did you make any changes to your contest prep for your last show? Water intake, carbing up, etc...

Yes this last show not cutting water or carbs was a scary decision made by my coach And I also got up the night b4 the show every few hours to eat which also was something different but deff worked out.

15) What do you think of bikini division?

I think bikini  is a great division for girls that don't want an overly muscular body but love fitness and want to stay healthy and motivated by stepping on stage with a more feminine sexy physique.

16) What are your favorite foods to eat right after you compete on a Saturday night?

After a show The first thing I want is a huge bowl of frozen yogurt with lots of toppings and a red beer with salt on the rim and grapes! 

17) Please tell us about how you were raised and did you have any interesting experiences while growing up? 

I was raised in a single parent  home with two sisters  we didn't have a lot of money but we I had a great life I got really good grades and I was homecoming queen and very girly  but have always been Athletic.

18) Do you have an athletic background? Gymnastics, soccer, volleyball or what? 

Yes I was a gymnast and cheerleader for many many years growing up which I think was the foundation for my muscle maturity and muscle memory that I have now.   I took weight training in high school and held the record there for squats 205lbs for many years which now I squat a lot more but I was also 60 pounds lighter back then haha 

19) What is a typical day in the life of Andy Borneman? From waking up to until going to bed? 

A typical day for me is getting up at 6:45 getting my kids ready for school once I drop them off at school I come home and immediately get ready for the gym I teach a cycle class at nine in the morning for an hour then I usually consume my first meal and go back and train . 
 Then I will go to work at the salon then run errands like tanning, groceries, meeting athletes, nails, shopping before I pick my kids up at 3:15 then I take them to either gymnastics or football get home do homework make dinner getting ready for bed and then I hit round two at the gym and I'll usually come home and do my last set of cardio on my spin bike or elliptical that I have in my bedroom then I try to work on my athletes competition plans nutrition adjustments. Return emails and texts from clients, athletes, family and friends and scroll social media and online shopping until I pass out haha. I don't go out much or have much time for anything else I don't go out much or have much time to spend with any friends. 

20) What is your current occupation? Please tell us more about it, what do you specifically do in your job?

My current occupation is a hairstylist I have been doing hair for eight years specializing in color and extensions. I'm also an Andy b fit bodybuilding coach i've been doing that for 4 years I have had great success in that currently prepping over 40 athletes with a 10 person waiting list. And I have been teaching spinning/cycle class for nine years.  So I have a lot of jobs haha 


Back to Issues


© 2004-2015 HardFitness Design All right reserved.